Travel Books

When long term travel or life on the road does not seem feasible for now, I feed my wanderlust by reading. Sharing here list of travel books that inspire, enrich and keep me in travel mode.

Vagabonding by Rolf Potts

This is by far the most mind-opening book I read on traveling and it accords well with the minimalist life I set for myself. Here, the writer explained the uncommon way of looking life and of travel. It’s beyond booking a ticket, packing suitcases, ticking off that bucket list, escaping real life. It does not start in the airport. It starts now, in everyday decisions. It’s attitude, it’s a mindset. It’s cultivating fascination on people, places; of learning, facing fears and altering habits. It’s re-alignment of self, discovery of life, de-cluttering and moving towards our dreams. And I like how the writer further defined vagabonding – it is a private undertaking and its goal is to improve your life not in relation to your neighbors but in relation to yourself.

The Geography of Bliss by Eric Weiner

The book is about one writer who travelled to some of the world’s most contented places to attempt to describe what happiness is. I followed him to Netherlands, Switzerland, Bhutan, Qatar, Iceland, Moldova, Thailand, Great Britain and India. What I loved the most in this book is I travelled not for the landmarks, must see places but to look into the consciousness of the people on how they describe happiness relative to their country’s history and even policies. I was amused and delighted!

Neither here nor there (travels in Europe) by Bill Bryson

This one felt like traveling in Europe. I was also amused by the writer’s observations on places (the good and the ugly) and of course I was able to imagine vividly some places I went for myself in 2014 like Austria, Paris, etc. Would love to be back soon!

The Big Trip by Lonely Planet

The book is an easy to read guide when planning for that big trip. Part Three detailed out the different continents to give the traveler a general look on what to expect, best time to go and what to do. Can’t wait for my big one/s this year!

What other travel books can you recommend? 🙂

IMG_20160320_170020.jpg

Leave a Reply

